Posted in books, movies

Chasing Oscar … Best Picture: Imitation Game

The-Imitation-Game“Sometimes it is the people no one imagines anything of, who do the things that no one can imagine.” ~ The Imitation Game

My husband and I like to see movies – especially in the latter part of December and early in January when studios fill theaters with great movies in order to make the required screening date of December 31, and be eligible for an academy award.

We especially love to do movie marathons, seeing three films a day sometimes, in order to get them all in before the Academy Awards. We focus on potential movie, actor, and director nominees.

That can be a lot of movies since we’re usually choosing our viewing by reading critic’s predications for who they think will be nominated, but it’s our Christmas week goal to see them all. This year we spent Christmas with family out of state and missed our annual movie binge, so we’re slowly trying to get caught up. It’s easier because the list is smaller since nominees have been announced.

THE IMITATION GAMEWe don’t live in a huge “market” so often don’t get to see the best films until January roles around. Theaters are full of them now. We finally got “The Imitation Game” this past week and saw it with anticipation last night. Great movie – we loved everything about it. Benedict Cumberbatch was terrific in the role of Alan Turing. The story was good – based on fact – of a few men and one woman who attempt to break Nazi Germany’s code system during WWII. Well worth seeing, and of the four nominated movies I’ve seen so far, the best.

Seeing the movie made me want to read the book. It’s sure to be even better than the movie – a fascinating read.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

7 thoughts on “Chasing Oscar … Best Picture: Imitation Game

  1. My husband and I do the same. And it was a gluttony of movies during the Christmas break. In LA, there is always more than we can get to. Loved the Imitation Game, if only a bit formulaic. Just saw American Sniper and I would be interested to know what you think. I found it problematic which is sometimes a good thing. My fave is still Boyhood.

    1. Those are two I haven’t seen yet. Can you believe Boyhood isn’t even here yet? When I lived in LA, I was on movie overload all the time. As to American Sniper, I see critiques that aren’t so positive. I’ll probably see it next. Have you seen Birdman, The Theory of Everything, Selman, Grand Budapest Hotel, and Whiplash?

      1. Planning to watch American Sniper and Selma over the coming weekend. Boyhood just got released in DVD, so hoping to watch that soon too.Rest…I’m not very sure.

        1. You should see The Theory of Everything – it’s an ok movie, I think, but worth seeing Eddie Redmayne’s performance as Stephen Hawking. He’s amazing. A shoe in, I think, for best actor. I didn’t know Boyhood was on DVD – I’ll see it that way rather than trying to figure out how far I’d have to drive to see it!

          1. Thanks for the suggestion; I was undecided until now whether to go for TTOE, now will definitely give it a shot. Yeah, Boyhood arrived just earlier this week.

Tell me what you think

