Posted in health, humor, people, this&that, wellness

Chicken soup and helpful strangers

I came home today by way of the neighborhood market where I’d stopped to get the makings of chicken soup. Two days ago a co-worker came into the office with a full-blown cold. Now I don’t know if you can catch a cold in two days, but honestly, I never get sick when I’m away from that office and I have a hard and fast rule about coming into the office when sick. Unfortunately, I’m the only one who seems to adhere to it.

Chicken soup is a common classic comfort food ...
Chicken soup is a common classic comfort food that might be found across cultures. (Photo credit: Wikipedia). I’m hopeful I’ll get a bowl before I met my helpful stalker, er, stranger, again.

I couldn’t remember all the ingredients and in my feverish state, I asked the nearest woman I could find what she put into her chicken soup. Bad idea. She pointed to her husband who proceeded to tell me he’d been a cook in the Navy. He looked older and was a big burly guy – he looked and like he could sling hash onto your plate and beat the crap out of you if you didn’t like it. Not wanting to get the crap beat out of me, I listened for about 15 minutes while he told me what he put in it, why I shouldn’t eat wheat, should take a lot of different vitamins, eat lots of vegetables, never eat corn and a bunch more stuff than I can’t remember. Silly me, I told him I ate lots of veggies and took a handful of vitamins and meds everyday, thanks to being diabetic. Oh Lord. That started a second round of advice. He took me to the health food section, tossed gluten-free bread into my basket, then two loaves “because it was on sale.” Next into my cart was something with GFW in its title (two, you know, because they were on sale) and at least three other important things for diabetics to take. He was diabetic, too, and had “researched everything. My doctor tells me I should teach the diabetes education class.” I’ll bet he does, just so he doesn’t have to listen to it.By the time I’d managed to separate from he and his wife, I had a cart full of stuff I didn’t want. I went around a couple of aisles and came back to put it all back on the shelf when he hollered to me from the far end of the aisle. Ooops. I kept the stuff in my basket, intending to return it later – maybe he’d finally leave the store. He caught me in the fresh chicken section and started in on the nasty stuff chickens have in them. I eventually disengage and he went on his way, only to see me twice more (fortunately from a distance), waving wildly. “Stay healthy!” he yelled each time.

I finally left my cart, went to the restroom, and then to the pharmacy to pick up a prescription. As I was leaving there, I saw him again, this time in the checkout line, waving and saying, “Stay healthy.” I I felt reasonably sure I could head for the milk and avoid him.

I got a full education on many things and would be glad to share it all if you feel inclined to hear it. Just let me know.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

3 thoughts on “Chicken soup and helpful strangers

  1. Oh my word, that is hilarious!!! I can assure you I would have ended up buying all those items and donating them. And who buys two loaves of bread just because they are on sale? Mine always gets old and stale before I get to the end of the loaf. Then again, I’m probably just doing it wrong. LOLOLOL.

    1. Nice to know. Next time I see him, I’ll send him your way. And, the trick to the bread is to freeze one, but if yours goes stale before you use it all, be sure to wrap it in freezer paper. Aren’t you glad we can share great tips like this??

      1. Wow. Good advice. But I would have to get rid of my cases of ice cream to make room for the bread. So how ’bout if I just throw away the leftover bread and nobody will be none the wiser? LOL.

Tell me what you think

