Posted in writing

Limping through 50,000 words with Honey Boo Boo

Image from Office of Letters and Light at https://store.lettersandlight.org/merchandise/camp-nanowrimo-moonrise-poster

First, just a quick note to my Camp NaNoWriMo buddies: I finally figured out how to get us all into the same cabin. Here’s the word sent from “above.”

A couple of quick tips:
1. The best way to get our processing system to bunk you in the same cabin as a friend’s is for all of you to opt out of your cabins (the link should be on the same page as your cabin message board, at the bottom).
2. Next, you’ll want to go to your “Cabin Settings”, and hit “Request Specific Campers”, and input each other’s names within the same 24 hour period. Make sure everyone has defined a novel for August as well.

3. Cabins are reassigned daily at around 4 am PST. Make sure to request each other during the same cycle, and your chances will be good!

So, I’ve made my changes and my request for a new cabin with all of you in it and hope this works out. I could use the encouragement right about now!

As to the my novel itself, however . . . I’m limping along (a pun for those of you who know I’m dealing with a torn medial meniscus on my left knee). Writing through pain meds is, uh, interesting, and provides unique characters and plot twists. But, I’m also easily frustrated, have a short attention span and my resulting word count is feeble. I’m hanging in there, and as I shared with fellow camper and blogger, Sarah (Introverted Blogger), this may be the first time I actually lose one of these challenges.

Alas, enough with the pity party! I’m off to the gym today to get some upper body work in (before everything goes to mush) and buy some bright yellow flowers for my desk. Then I’m going to sit down to catch up on reading blog posts here. It’s time to re-enter the real world and live off something other than chocolate and trash TV.

Sorry to inflict the following on you, but even a commercial from the depths of trash TV seemed better than a picture of a torn medial meniscus.

 
Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

3 thoughts on “Limping through 50,000 words with Honey Boo Boo

  1. Way to lure in the hits by putting Honey Boo Boo in your title. 😉 Now there’s a show it’s safe to say I won’t be watching.

    Sorry the knee is still giving you problems. I hope it doesn’t hinder your writing creativity too much!

    1. It’s not the knee that bugs me so much now, it’s the pain pills. Man, they do funny things to your head. But, alas, so does the pain you get without them. I’m waiting on an MRI now.

      And, yeh, Honey Boo Boo is good for something, at least!

  2. Emma, how is your knee now?
    Arhhh that Honeybooboo thing has made it all the way down here in Australia too. Stop the world I need to get off.

Tell me what you think

