Posted in life, observations

Help! I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!

On second thought, just leave me face down on the floor. I’m in way over my head anyway, why get up?

I started work again a few weeks ago, just part time and just ten months a year. I spent the first few weeks of the job stressing over not being able to keep up with my WordPress blog and reading all the blogs I follow. I did think that I’d at least get to it all when the break came, July and August. I’d be back on my toes, my fingers tapping across the keys and everything covered with sparkles! Ta Da! And, with two months off I’d have time to figure out how to get everything done when I headed back to work. You’d think, huh?

Wonder if this comes in my size?

As I lay in bed this morning, again with the stressing, this time over whether or not to put my injured knee through a three or four mile walk or rest it and how to keep from eating myself into oblivion today, I drifted off into stressing about why I still can’t keep up with my blog and all the reading when I’m not even working. Actually, I can’t seem to keep up with anything. Why is it, I ask my lazy self, why I’m more able to keep up when I’m working four hours a day than when I have ten free hours a day??

Yup. Ten full hours a day, five days a week, unscheduled (with the exception of occasional doctor appointments, haircuts, grocery shopping, getting the car to the shop, laundry, cleaning house, vet visits . . . ). Still, I’m freaking drowning! I have this growing list of stuff I’d like to get done before I return to work in September — the operative word in that sentence is “growing.” Nothing getting done but lots of crap popping up that needs to be done.

No truer words were ever spoken. Or typed.

I’ve forgotten all the rules of organization . . .  taking a project one bite at a time, allowing some free time, making a list and checking it off, doing the things you don’t want to do first, etc. Well, I remember them; let’s just say I’m not doing them.

One thing I realized as I sat down at the computer this morning is that I start every day here: check the weather, check my email, check in at Facebook, and check in at WordPress. I’ve trained myself not to go any further, allowing just enough time to check in while I drink something before talking a walk. I could spend the full day sitting at the computer, easily, so I make an effort to get out of the house before getting locked in. That’s a good thing, right? I also make a quick list of what I have to get done that day. That’s good, too, right?

Then I walk. Then I come home. Then the day falls apart. Suddenly it’s 5:30 and my husband is walking in the door and I tell myself tomorrow will be better.

If you’ve got suggestions, send them fast. I’m up to my nose in water and someone just turned the faucet on full.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

13 thoughts on “Help! I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!

  1. I think you’re preaching to the choir on this one. The more online things we participate in, the more new ones pop up, and soon the day is behind us. Not to mention all of those “real world” things that need to get done. Sigh. But it is fun, isn’t it? 🙂

    1. Yes, and what did we do with our time before online stuff appeared? You’re probably not old enough to remember a time like that, but I do and I was probably whining even then about lack of time!

      1. Oh, I am indeed old enough to remember those times. I also remember having only three TV channels. My children like to rub that one in my face. But back then, I had no children, was a student, and worked a string of minimum wage jobs, so I suspect that kept me busy enough. And on a similar note, research before the days of the Internet was buckets and buckets of fun, wasn’t it?

  2. I am a compulsive list-maker. If I don’t make lists, I never get anything done. And haha, reading this I saw so many similarities in my own daily behavior.

    1. I’m a compulsive list maker as well, obsessive in fact. Still, I make my list and then decide it can all wait until tomorrow. The next day, I make the list again. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Until the guilt gets me and I do something, anything, usually ONE thing on the list!

Tell me what you think

