Posted in art, life, musings, people

Musing on Jude

Let’s face it. I’m getting older. I’ve got some gray hair, some “crinkles” and some extra weight. My knees bother me some. I’m given to fits of nostalgia. (And, hissies, but that’s for another post.)

I’m listening to some ’60s music and just heard “Hey Jude” by the Beatles. A great song which got me to wondering about it.

Paul with Julian on Magical Mystery Tour set.

It’s widely believed to have been written by Paul McCartney to comfort Julian Lennon, the son of then-divorcing parents, John and Cynthia Lennon. But some critics believe that Paul wrote it about John, saying Jude is short for Judas, the traitor, and that Paul was referring to the end of their long partnership, and maybe, friendship, as well as John’s relationship with Yoko Ono. (The Beatles did split, just a couple of years later in 1970.) It sounds a lot more like the latter me, written with lyrics far too old for a five-year-old. Still, even Julian (who claims to have been closer to Paul than his own dad) wrote “It’s very strange to think that someone has written a song about you. It still touches me.” A strange, sad story, no matter how you look at it.

Just so you know, “Hey Jude” was released as a single in summer 1968 and spent 19 weeks on the American charts, nine of them at #1. It set records — the longest time a Beatles tune spent at the #1 spot, the longest single to ever top the charts, and commercially. It was #1 in at least 12 countries. By the end of 1968 it had sold more than 5 million copies.

Which is all a long-about way to say, I’m amazed that “Hey Jude” is not listed among the top ten hits of the ’60s! The Beatles didn’t even make the top ten!!??

1 Good Vibrations Beach Boys
2 When A Man Loves A Woman Percy Sledge
3 Reach Out, I’ll Be There Four Tops
4 Gimme Some Lovin’ Spencer Davis Group
5 Ain’t Too Proud To Beg Temptations
6 Eight Miles High Byrds
7 For What It’s Worth Buffalo Springfield
8 Paint It Black Rolling Stones
9 You Keep Me Hangin’ On Supremes
10 Wild Thing Troggs

I know all those songs, remember them well. But more popular than “Hey Jude?” *shrug* Go figure.

This is not the best version available I’m sure (a live performance on the David Frost show in 1968) but it’s a great snapshot of the ’60s! Check out the hairstyles, clothes and the eyelashes on that one girl with the sky-high blond hair near the beginning. OMG. I AM old!!

What was tops in music when you graduated from high school? Check out Digital Dream Door to find your list. Just scroll to the bottom of the home page and look for Top 100 songs by year. Then let us know what the top songs were in the year you graduated from high school. Aw, come on. Everyone gets older. Every single year. Happens to the best of us.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

9 thoughts on “Musing on Jude

  1. This was a really interesting post to read. I do enjoy Hey Jude a great deal. It’s different to me than a lot of their earlier stuff. The first time I heard it, Paul McCartney was playing the piano and singing on Saturday Night Live. So, the song (and the Beatles) aren’t really from my time, but I certainly have a great appreciation for them.

Tell me what you think

