Posted in edibles, observations, people

The English language, Nora Ephron, and ice cream redux

First, on the passing of the lovely and talented Nora Ephron, I’d like to share this quote. A nice one, I think.

Whatever you choose, however many roads you travel, I hope that you choose not to be a lady. I hope you will find some way to break the rules and make a little trouble out there. And I also hope that you will choose to make some of that trouble on behalf of women. ~ Nora Ephron

Next, just because. Just because English is a language that was created to drive any nominally sane person stark raving mad.And lastly, I’ve only been at my new job four weeks and this Friday is my last day until September because I’m what they call “cyclical” and only work during the academic year.

So, if you read my last post (about my ice cream cravings), you will love the fact that tomorrow there is an ice cream social at the college! It’s an annual event where management serves up ice cream to classified staff. I’m classified. I love ice cream. I’m in trouble.

Comments welcome, but don’t expect an immediate response. I’ve got my spoon and I’m on my way to be first in line at tomorrow’s ice cream social. Color me happy!

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

7 thoughts on “The English language, Nora Ephron, and ice cream redux

  1. Wow! Our management doesn’t serve us staff ice cream. Maybe I’m just not classified. I think I’m broad-banded. Or non-broad-banded. I have no idea what those words even mean.

    I enjoyed your English language conundrums. Those were fun.

    1. Can you believe that the day after I whined about craving ice cream I find out they are going to SERVE it to us FREE??!! And, somehow I’m sure it will ALL be sugar free. Uh huh.

Tell me what you think

