Posted in observations, people

The beauty of older women

I admire older women. I like the look of older women — wrinkles, eye crinkles, gray hair and all. Older people have a depth that shows in their faces and left untouched it’s beautiful. It’s something you can’t fathom when you’re younger, slathering on the latest age-defying cream and vowing never to look that old.

Dame Judi Dench and Dame Maggie Smith.  Source: Helayne Seidman For The Washington Post.


I’ve always looked much younger than my years, which I hated so much when I was in my 20s. I wanted to look my age. When I turned 55 I finally started to look like I was in my 50s. Now at almost 65, I’m starting to get gray hair and wrinkles, overnight! I’m actually enjoying it!

I don’t suppose that’s a universal feeling among older women, especially with the constant media focus on young, model-type women. And, there are the downsides to aging. I still turn to look for my mother when someone calls me “ma’m” and I’m not too fond of the physical calamities of getting older, but I love, love, love finally being accepted for my actual age.

I think that’s partly responsible for my fascination with the look of older women. I wonder if my face will be interesting as I age. Will it tell a lifetime of stories? Will it show wisdom, love, long-ago pain, tenderness, joy, acceptance and all the other things in older women’s faces?

Faces tell wonderful stories. I want someone to look at my face as I continue to age and see character. And, good stories. The marks of a life well-lived.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

33 thoughts on “The beauty of older women

  1. Love this, Emma! I love the look of an older man or woman who have the crinkles and wrinkles, with a sparkle in their eyes; you just KNOW they have lived and can tell such stories!

  2. I think we grow into our looks, and I do so admire women who do age gracefully i like to see mobility in a face or the way eyes crinkle at the sides it’s natural.
    As for myself I used to do all the beauty treatments and opt for basic care and i have a few lines but have earned every single for they all tell a story, my face has seen and weathered much.

  3. My husband and I just saw “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” tonight, and when we left the theater, I said how wonderful it was to see actresses (and actors) looking their age and how much more appealing and interesting they looked than their plasticized counterparts. So it was fun to read your post. I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

    1. Oh, wonderful! Did you like the movie? I tend to like movies like that and am looking forward to seeing it. Glad you agree on the subject — maybe that means we’ll grow old, wrinkled, beautiful and happy!

      1. I always say I’ll never cut my bangs. They hide my forehead wrinkles and are much more pleasant than shots full of toxin. 🙂

        We loved the movie. Really, really well done. Great images; great music; great cast and dialogue.

        1. If I grew my bangs long enough to hide all my wrinkles, I’d be in a circus! My forehead, surprisingly, is fairly wrinkle-free for the time being.

          Glad to hear you liked the movie!

  4. I love this picture you’ve put up, of two beautiful confident women. The 20’s are so fleeting, they pass by in the blink of an eye, and the 30th are full of young children and no sleep but the 40’s and onward are full of learning all the things you though you knew but really had no idea about. I’m loving it, and I can only imagine at 65, it’s even better.

  5. Thank you for this! Society says we’re supposed to look young forever, but age is a wonderful think. If you are happy and take care of yourself, there should never be any sorrow about growing old.

  6. I hate how the media: magazines, movies, music etc are so obsessed with beauty and looking young. It makes women paranoid about our looks. I try to adhere to the lyrics in Baz Luhrmann’s song Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen): “do not look at beauty magazines, they will only make you feel ugly”.

    1. That’s a good line! I’m with you — I’m really sick of being told I need to color my hair because my gray is beginning to show or I need botox or whatever!

    1. Thanks for the repost, Eva. Glad you liked it. The two “dames” (as one of your commenters called them!) are truly poster girls for graceful aging. Thanks, again.

Tell me what you think

