Posted in inspiration, writing

Writing? Uh, not so much.

I’ve been struggling with my writing lately. I write here and I make a very few comments and posts on Facebook, but I’ve not been able to buckle down to the novel I got a huge start on late last year. I’d like to get back to it, but nothing seems to work.

I’ve tried going back to read some of it, to put me in the right frame of mind, you know. Nothing. I just can’t recapture the place where my head was then. (I’m open to suggestion.)

In the meantime, I’ve been trying to catch up on some reading, including the posts of others here. I fall woefully behind in this on a regular basis, and much like with the daily newspaper — when I’ve left them for a while, they pile up! I love to read what others are writing, I just seem to be in a bit of a slump for writing or reading, my two favorite things.

Reading blogs this morning, I came across an entry from LizzieCracked on her blog, Running Naked with Scissors. It’s about a new project she and her daughter (I think) are doing separately, but together. (They are both doing it, but not sharing with each other just yet.) It’s a journal/project called Wreck this Journal (written by Keri Smith), described as

For anyone who has had trouble starting, keeping, or finishing a journal comes this illustrated book that features a subversive collection of prompts, asking readers to muster up their best mistake- and mess-making abilities. (Powell’s Bookstore)

I read a few reviews of the book/journal/project and thought it sounded intriguing. A good way to banish inhibitions (Ack! How could a reader/writer basically destroy a book??) and free up your creativity. I’m thinking about trying it — it looks like LizzieCracked is having good fun with the first day of it.

Google "Wreck this Journal" and take a look at the images. Some people are just too creative for their own good!

It got me thinking about trying to write to prompts every day for a while until I can get my mojo back. I’ve never really liked that in classes I’ve had, but the prompts always seem so, well, dull.

I’ve watched blogger Jenny work her way through the alphabet as part of the A-Z Challenge (that was fun) and see that others are doing word-count challenges. Since NaNoWriMo (and Camp NaNoWriMo) are still months away, I went looking for an interim fix and found these handy journaling/writing prompts from the ESUHSD in San Jose, CA. There are many of them and I’m sure I can find something I want to write about, so I’m going to start with those and hope for some juice to start flowing soon.

In the meantime, keep calm and carry on. What do you do to bust the writing blahs?

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

13 thoughts on “Writing? Uh, not so much.

  1. What do I do? I write and vent and write about venting. I read blogs, I read books, I read blogs about books and books about blogs. Then I go for walks and bicycle rides to clear the knowledge from my head. And then I start all over again. Thanks for the mention, by the way. That put a smile on my face. 🙂 I’m debating on whether to try NaNo again this year. I fell short by a few 20,000 words. It was a great challenge, though, so definitely something to keep in mind. Good luck with whatever prompts you to write. There is a lot of inspiration out there. All you have to do is take the leap. I’ll be cheering you on all the way.

    1. I like the idea of venting — sometimes I think my best writing comes when I just sit down and spill. Some famous writer said that writing was like slitting your wrists and letting them bleed — something like that. Shoot. Now I have to go look it up! Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. So far, I’ve been fortunate and haven’t experienced writing blahs. My problem is taking the time to do my creative writing instead of messing around online. 🙂

    1. Oh, yes. I can definitely identify with that! Ever done NaNoWriMo? I spent my first time doing it on the forums and made friends from all over the world (that I still write with). Fortunately, they kept reminding me that I needed to finish my 50,000 words in 30 days, and via their encouragement I managed to do it and LIVE on the forums!

  3. I do a bunch of other things until I HAVE to write. Like read ten books in a row. Or do all the dishes and laundry–loads and loads of it–until I’d much rather write than do any more cleaning. By the time I sit down and start doing it, I’m very happy and very committed to the writing.

    1. Love this idea! Next time you need to avoid writing, please come to my place. In the interim, I will allow the laundry to pile up in anticipation of your visit!

      Isn’t it amazing how something as mundane as housework because the perfect work-avoidance activity? I can always tell when my writing is lagging by how clean my house is!

  4. Thank you for the shout out and the link 🙂 It is indeed my daughter who started the whole thing and I don;t know if she has posted anything but I know she has worked on it 🙂 she has been having a case of the writing blahs too. I notice whenever there is a significant change in my life is when I get stuck.. And once I realize its not that I have no ideas its just that they aren;t ideas I particularly recognize that I have written about before…I JUST went through it a couple of weeks ago and wrote about it. On the advice of a good friend who said write about your writers block…sometimes it brings to light what the “block” is and we find it’s just a detour. As far as prompts..I wish I could direct you somewhere.. but inspiration usually hits when I am not looking for it…kinda like you find your soulmate when you stop looking or however that goes. Happy Writing and hey if you get a Wreck this journal – let me know… I would like to see what you do 🙂

  5. Funny that you mention finding your soul mate when you stop looking — it’s how I met my husband. Fed up with serious relationships, I just went on a date with him for fun (didn’t seem like husband material to me then) and three months later we were married — for 30 years! Thanks for the pep talk about writing. It’ll come, I know. It’s just waiting for it … and waiting … and cleaning house … and waiting some more … and blogging and whining … and wiating some more …

  6. I too am in a slump but I’ve tried not to think about it too much and I did do a solid hour of writing last week. I’m taking a few days off posting in my blog to spend that time on my WIP. I’ll see how successful that is 🙂

Tell me what you think

