Posted in old things rediscovered

Beautiful old things: Pottery

I was searching for something on Google (jeez, they’re going to have to compensate me for all the mentions they get on this blog) and came across the following photo. What a clever idea!

And, of course, this photo prompted wistfulness about my vintage pottery collection — most of which I sold not too long ago in my efforts to downsize. I do miss them.

Vintage Roseville pottery

I tend to like the heavy, pottery type pieces from diners, and as you’ll see, railroad dining cars! But, I’ve always really liked Roseville pottery (very deco), too.

Roseville has always been a little out of my price range for collecting, so I admire from a distance or hang out in antique stores to touch and admire!

Keller Guerin Luneville French Pottery Pitcher (photo from http://www.rubylane.com).

 

I also love delicate pieces like the hatpin holders my great aunt in England used to hand paint. (I have two of those, one sadly in pieces from a move. I still carry the pieces around looking for some way to use them that will help me remember how beautiful it was.) The Keller Guerin Luneville French Pottery Pitcher (c. 1900s France) in the photo is much like my great aunt’s pieces.

I’m especially fond of the more practical Bauer pottery that my mother used, however. None of her pieces survived but I have two wonderful bowls from my husband’s grandmother.

Bauer bowl (photo from http://www.relique.com)

Bauer, even though it’s a bit more reasonable, I’ve never bothered to collect, knowing that I had two wonderful pieces with some sentimental value, already. (And, yes, I kept those.)

Vintage single serve tea pot (photo from http://www.etsy.com)

Shamefully, I’ve always been addicted to collecting small white pitchers, nothing fancy, just very simple. And, just as shamefully I’ve always had a need for every small green pitcher or creamer or single serve tea pot I’ve ever seen. Don’t ask; I never counted them and I don’t even drink tea.

Part of my Spokane-Portland-Seattle railway collection.

But, my most serious “issues” were around some absolutely beautiful Shenango pottery made just for use on the now extinct Spokane Portland & Seattle (SP&S) Railway dining cars. If you’re not old enough to ever have ridden on a train in their heyday, you missed a something very special. Dining cars featured “fine dining” in those days, complete with white linen tablecloths and napkins.

Still, the dinnerware was sturdy for easy handling in a moving vehicle. Sturdy but decorative, always. For the SP&S, it was the Dogwood pattern. I had nearly eight full settings of this cool pattern that probably cost me as much to ship as they did to buy. I was a total eBay freak for this stuff, collecting it for years.

(photo from http://www.Worthpoint.com)

It’s all gone now — happily to another freak like me! All that’s left is the one piece I love most, a beautiful little creamer, c. 1952.

Just a couple years younger than I am.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

3 thoughts on “Beautiful old things: Pottery

    1. My husband swears I live on the Internet. I can’t help it that I get excited when I see the Google logo and have to go looking for stuff! I grew up in the era of encyclopedias — after reading them all the way through once I was doomed.

Tell me what you think

