Posted in blogging, inspiration, writing

Finding a Liebster on your doorstep

The oddest things can happen while you’re sitting in a hospital waiting room. Imagine, for instance, finding a Liebster on your doorstep when you arrive home! Thank you, Claudia, for the recognition and the knowledge that I make you laugh!

It’s a treat to read Claudia’s blog The Accidental Chef, and to share it here with you. I love the recipes, the connection to Italy, and the stories about life. Always insightful, entertaining and enjoyable to read. Please stop by to check it out if you aren’t already acquainted with her work.

About the Liebster: According to the rules of the Liebster, winners must pay-it-forward to five other people whose blogs are worthy of recognition. Nominees who accepts the award should thank the person who nominated them, nominate five of their favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers, and copy/paste the Liebster Blog icon into their post (and onto their site, if they wish).

Being curious upon receiving it, I had to determine what it really meant. As in, what’s a “liebster”? I discovered (after many hours on Google–do you even know how much stuff is out there? I found a wonderful recipe for sticky buns!) that the word liebster is German for “favorite.”

Awww. Let me thank you again, Claudia. (I hope you knew what it meant when you bestowed it upon all of us!)

http://www.dragonartz.net

Now to honor others. This is somewhat harder for me. While I very much like the idea of passing the award on to bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers, I really have no idea how to determine how many readers one has. So, I’m sure to stick my foot in it here. (I hope that won’t cost me the award; I’m chewing my nails in apprehension. I need all the recognition I can get, preferably for good stuff.) Ooops! I hear them playing the music that means I’m supposed to quit talking and get off the stage. I didn’t even get to thank my cat-sitter! (And, why did they choose the 50s tune “You talk too much”??)

After the commercial – This one always makes me nostalgic. I think we must have grown up at the same time and in the same place. Thanks, Anita!

Life on Earth – Another writer with whom I connect on many levels. Thanks, Jerri

A Farewell to Carbs – I don’t know the author’s name but I know the same struggles and issues. Many thanks for sharing.

Sillyliss – Just because she always makes me laugh! And, another one whose real name I don’t know. I toy will the idea that she’s named Lissa but prefer to think she’s really named Silly!

And, with that I come up one short. I’m reasonably sure all of these fine bloggers have more than 200 followers and know that I’ve shared other awards with them, but they are three of my favorites. And, that’s what a Liebster is.

*****

PS, can anyone tell me how to find really new bloggers — the ones with fewer than 200 followers?

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

9 thoughts on “Finding a Liebster on your doorstep

  1. If the number of followers is not listed in the blog’s side bar, then I don’t think there’s any way to really know. But I suppose there’s a good chance that if the blog hasn’t listed the number of followers, then maybe it’s because it’s not yet a number they’re comfortable revealing. I know I didn’t post my number of followers early on. So vain of me, isn’t it? But few want to reveal they have only 5 followers. 🙂

    Congrats!

    1. I often joke that i have 2 or 3 followers, but to be honest, my number fluctuates around 40. It seems every time someone new starts following me, someone who used to drops off. If I had 200 or more I’d be deliriously happy (at least for a few minutes anyway), then I’d pout because I didn’t have 1000.

      I’ve been writing blog posts since late February, it’s now late April. Is this really what i should be doing? Will this ever be worth my while? Is there a method to this madness? Will Batman and Robin escape the evil clutches of the Penguin’s Doomsday Machine???

  2. LOL, that is hilarious, you are hilarious, and I thank you for the awesome award. 🙂 My first name is silly. Actually, no, that’s my middle name… ; )

    1. Dear Silly, uh, no, Dear First Name: Thanks! I’ve been wanting to respond to you but got hung up on the name thing. May I suggest something simple (to go with Silly)? Something like Cleopatra? Nice ring, don’t you think? Cleopatra Silly. It’s yours. You don’t have to give me credit. You’re welcome!

      1. Cleopatra Silly has a nice ring to it. I have also gone by Strawberry Cooper at times and still might respond to that. Some folk call me Melissa, but generally I ignore them. Hahaha.

  3. Congratulations – well deserved.
    That is a good question. I only seem to stumble on them by accident. There should be a new blog section. Sometimes I come across them and then they disappear. It’s hard to be a new blogger.

Tell me what you think

