Posted in blogging

Help me, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up

Could/would someone please explain (clearly, in big letters and simple words) the difference between tags and categories?

break through

And, in the process, please don’t refer me to anything already written on the web (especially here at WordPress). I’ve read all of it. ALL of it. I still don’t get it.

It should be easy to grasp, shouldn’t it? I speak, write and read English, just not tags and categories. Maybe if it was in Italian I could use my translator and finally get the picture.

And, speaking of pictures, they work well for me, too.

THANK YOU from the bottom of my decrepit old soul.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

9 thoughts on “Help me, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up

  1. There are no stupid questions…etc…

    My understanding of the difference between categories and tags as far as it applies to WordPress (and I could be totally wrong), is that categories is a way by which a reader can decide which of your blogs to read. If they decide that your humor is too high brow, but your insight into Christian values is spot on, they can click the “Christian Values” category and see everything you’ve categorized under that heading.

    Tags, on the other hand, are important words which may (hopefully) show up in web searches and guide people to your post. So people who type in “baby boomers”, “computerish” and “life” into their search engines, may be directed to you (especially if you went to tools and put the link to your post in the search engine part there). In addition, the use of words like “humor” or “social media” in tags will increase the chances that your post will be featured, albeit briefly, in WordPress’ topic pages.

    As I wrote at the beginning, I may very well be wrong. If that’s the case, I hope someone else corrects me and I learn in the process.

    Whew!

        1. I’ve not been keeping up with my reading, so hadn’t seen it. Of course I know some of those. Are you in the PNW, too? Where? I especially like the “boobie” but the shot of Mt. Hood is wonderful – hard to get that one looking just like any old mountain, though, huh?

          I also went back to read about the “cute” kittens. Man, I love animals but I’ve had to do some serious weeding out (by use of lists) to get the kittenshit off my screen. The other one I really hate is “cheezeburger” whatever it is.

          Have you seen Blunt Cards (.com)? That’s my kind of snark.

          1. Haven’t seen it. It was fun taking my scenic snapshots and putting my knuckleheaded philosophy on them. I went to grad school at the U of Oregon for architecture. Then moved back east to be near family and have regretted it on some level ever since. Have in-laws in Eugene and my brother and his family live in Portland. We’ll be getting back out there one of these days again for a vacation. I don’t bother getting acclimated to the time change when I go, preferring to get up at 4:30 west coast time and exploring the empty landscape. The only problem is falling asleep at 7:30 in the evening.

            I know how falling behind is. I have too many bloggers for my own good. Plus that pesky job I go to every day…

  2. Thank you for asking and thank you for responding. I had a vague idea but this cleared it for me too. WordPress is a very easy platform but you can tell some of the stuff is written by Microsoft users – I am a Mac girl, so I live in a world where everything is spelled out for inept users like me. Why don’t I blog on blogspot you wonder? I still like wordpress better

    1. Me, too, Claudia. I used Blogger for years and this is much better. But, even though I’m a Microsoft girl through and through, it took me WEEKS to figure out WordPress!

Tell me what you think

