Posted in inspiration, observations, writing

Where do you write?

Sitting on the dock of the bay, watching time roll away.  La La La.

Actually, I’m sitting in a neighborhood coffee spot called Mon Ami that makes a pretty good sugar free vanilla latte. Not only am I being really good–drinking sugar free–but I’m also multitasking. Well, if you can call drinking coffee, writing, and waiting for my car to be serviced multitasking.

I realized this morning as I packed up my gear for a four hour wait and rushed out the door for a 7:30 appointment, that I kind of miss writing in different places. Mon Ami is new to me, chosen for its proximity to the car fixers. I usually like to write at the library when I’m downtown like this — our main library is a treasure, brand new and designed to accommodate writers with private cubes and open space and coffee! Unfortunately, it doesn’t open until 9:00, so I’m elsewhere today.

This place is very cool. Very neighborhood — everyone seems to know each other and it has a very friendly buzz, and a surprising number of people dropping in. It’s right on Main St., in downtown, a sweet little street with big trees, small old buildings, nifty bookstores and antique shops, restaurants and a generally good vibe. We’ve been considering buying a house in this neighborhood. Today may have sold me!

Anyway, back to writing. I used to get up every morning and after some exercise and breakfast, set out for four hours at the library. Good habits. Since then I’ve fallen off the wagon, so to speak. So, this is the first time I’ve written other than at my desk in some time. This is a nice change, but I have to admit, I hate typing on a laptop keyboard. Aren’t there laptops with larger keyboards that don’t weight tons? Let me know if you know of one.

Ionian Sea at Taormina, Sicily

My laptop has seen a lot of miles. I’ve written in my car while waiting to pick up my husband at the airport, inside the airport myself while waiting for a flight, on a train in Italy, on a ferry in Puget Sound, in hotels all over California while traveling for work, under the trees on my patio, during my lunch hour on a bench at the river, on a balcony in Taormina overlooking the Ionian Sea (where not much writing was done, but what an inspirational view!) and in lots of different coffee shops. And, that’s just on the laptop. I can’t begin to list places I’ve jotted down a few lines or character ideas on good old paper and pen.

I’m hard pressed to decide which is my favorite place to write. I love my desk, of course, because it is totally set up for ME, my comfort. On the road, I prefer places with free WiFi, good coffee and some atmosphere. Atmosphere for me is a little hum of talk and laughter, the smell of coffee or food and all kinds of people. When I’m struggling with something, a little people watching is sublime.

So, where do you write? Do you like new places or prefer your space at home? Is coffee a must? Comfy chairs? Quiet? Pen and paper?

While you consider that . . . I’m thinking of trying the crepes here. Can you imagine a neighborhood coffee place that serves crepes? Do you think they make sugar free Nutella crepes?

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

21 thoughts on “Where do you write?

    1. I agree — outside in natural light and fresh air is wonderful. But, before we all come over to your deck, do you serve coffee and crepes?

  1. I don’t know if you read my post about reclaiming my office space that my husband somewhere along the years turned into his mancave. His stuff has been relocated, and my desk arrives today. I’m so excited, because there are windows, and thus sunshine in that room!

  2. I want a crepe. Nevermind writing. I’m no good at that anyway. I’ll just have a crepe and procrastinate. My crepe will have bananas and chocolate and powdered sugar on top. Oh, and caramel too?

  3. That looks like a lovely spot. I often take everything that will fit in my bag down to the coffee shop. It doesn’t have your view as I am land locked at the moment, but we have a lake. I feel out of sorts in a new place but if I have been a few times I am comfortable enough to write and can usually get some good ideas out too. Other wise, I love to write in the dinning room. It’s small and cosy and we never use it to eat so it’s all mine.

  4. Why is it that when you have kids, you set up and office and they pounce on it. Some kind of universal law.

    1. Ha! I love the transition from “small and cosy and we never use it to it so it’s all mine” to kids, pounce and universal law!! It’s amazing sometimes the noise and insanity we write in, but sometimes it’s the perfect thing for making you really focus.

      1. The day before yesterday i was up in Oklahoma and being beaten down by wind and rain as a thunderstorm rolled up off the Gulf of Mexico. Tonight I am in Houston, TX and there hasn’t been a cloud in the sky all day. The sun has been shining down on us, slowly trying to dry up the sitting water that has accumulated in low-lying spots in the parking lot of the truck-stop where I am staying for the night. There are so many things to write about out here!

        1. Wow. Thanks for sharing. I can’t imagine the life you lead. And, I’m in awe of the fact that you can find time and space to write no matter where you are.

  5. Anywhere and everywhere. With a laptop or just plain paper and pen (or, rather, my precious Florintine journals with thick, ivory paper). Coffee or no coffee – you just made me realize I have no preferences whatsoever. But I do love the sound of the keyboard as I type…

  6. I hope that someday technology gives us a sort of brain transcription machine so that my thoughts can be catalogued! I write best in my head but I always find myself not having pen and paper or a laptop to save the thought. And trying to reproduce it later, I can never get the same effect as the original thought. I think I need a secretary!

  7. Yes, a secretary would be nice! And, I’ve always wished I had a “replay” button in my head so I could grasp everything and get it down before it totally disappears. Me, though, I’ve always wanted a wife. Someone who would do all those wifey things for my husband–dishes, cook healthy meals, make dental appointments, laundry, take the cats to the vet, pick up the dry cleaning, take the car to the shop, pick up prescriptions . . . you know the drill! Maybe I need to add “follow me around and take notes” for all the stuff in my head! Can you image posting this help wanted ad??

Tell me what you think

