Posted in art, old things rediscovered

Beautiful old things: Urban decay

Cane Hill abandoned asylum by Andre Govia on flickr.com/photos/andregovia/

On the walls at the coffee spot I’m hanging out in this morning is the work of a local photographer, Samson Davis. It’s his first show and it features a wide range of photography — portraits, landscapes, some artsy digital color work (wish I knew what they were called), and a series on urban decay.

The urban decay pieces reminded me of a link a friend sent me some time ago from Flavorwire, that showed the interiors of some beautiful old buildings, including libraries and theaters. (I’ve looked but can find the link to add here.) That friend, Greg, shares an affinity for old things. An architect/ old movie buff/fellow library freak, he’s drawn to photos of them especially.

Untitled by Jesiii on http://www.flickr.com/photos/jesiiii/
Samson Davis – Greg – and here I am, writing about what treasures we have in these neglected old bui,ldings. It is amazing how much incredible detail, craftsmanship and passion went into old theaters and buildings.

Just cruising the net for photos to add to this post, I’m prompted to take to the street to save some of them. I’m especially melancholy about all the books in the library. They’re like stray cats (don’t get me started), I just want to bring them all home and take care of them. Is there anything sadder than a book left to rot? Maybe only an abandoned library full of them.

I’m so pleased that someone (lots of someones) finds art in these once vibrant places and shares that art — even if it makes me a little wistful.

United Artists Theater in Detroit at http://www.sodahead.com
House of Horror by Scallop Holden on flickr.com/photos/scallop_holden
New rising sun by country-boy-shane on flickr.com/photos/shanegorski
Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful old things: Urban decay

    1. Thank you! I love to discover these things — in real time and on Google. I was housebound yesterday doing laundry and spent much of the time looking at places to buy in Italy (even though we’re a few years away). It’s one of my favorite pastimes. I found so many old places I wanted to post about that I could have done a week’s worth of crumbling old buildings, beautifully carved doors, and fantasies about who built and lived in a little house (with 1861 carved in stone over the door) they call the “Fortuneteller’s Cottage.”

Tell me what you think

