Posted in blogging, life, this&that

Blog-a-day-discovery: Simpler. Easier. Happier.

kngmckellar-glorias.blogspot.com

I’ve been trying off and on (more off than on lately) to declutter my life, downsize my possessions, just make life easier all around.

Part of the reason for this is that I have no family who will take on the project when I’m gone, part of it is that we want to move into a smaller space (having done our years of “more is better” “bigger houses are better houses”), and part of it is that we plan to move it Italy in the next 5 years or so. The latter should be motivation enough to have the house and garage empty by now, but alas, knowing that I’ve got 5 years makes the going a bit slower!

Wanting to see what other people are up to with this topic, I stumbled across Simpler. Easier. Happier. a blog by a woman who has already accomplished the process under her blog’s original name: Minimalist OC.I think she’s just changed the name now to fit where she is in her life (enjoying the lack of clutter, peacefully), but the reasoning behind the original name made me laugh. She’s living in Orange County, CA, and for those of you who have no idea what that means, think materialistic. I lived there for years and in my book, anyone who can become minimalist in Orange County is a worthy soul to know. And, to follow.

babyzen.biz

In particular, I liked a post from late 2010: The Less I Own, The More I Have and a more recent one No Shopping Month – My Progress so Far, which sounds like an idea I need to try. I’m going to peruse her blog for ideas and hope that there’s light at the end of the clutter tunnel.

I’m going to close the door to the junk room second bedroom now. I could use a little peace.


Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

12 thoughts on “Blog-a-day-discovery: Simpler. Easier. Happier.

      1. Hah, I meant the blog dedicated to minimalizing, something I aspire to do, but never quite seem to do, because I live too close to Target. But you are always admirable as well, m’lady.

    1. Italy is definitely in our future. Now if I can just get my husband to retire so we can go! He tells me 5 years, I hope he doesn’t really mean 9 or 10! Still, that would give me more time to get rid of stuff, or in my case, add more!

    1. Thanks, Sheri! I think the photo up there now was taken at the beach near my house, on the Columbia River between Oregon and Washington.

      I’ll be back to read your blog thoroughly! Is it the same blog, you just changed the name? I’m hoping to see some of the posts during the time you were doing much of the decluttering/downsizing.

  1. Thanks, Emma! Yes, it’s the same blog. People were having trouble understanding the name, athough I’m glad you appreciat the significance! 🙂

    I also changed the blog to the name Preppy Minimalist for a short time too because there was a huge interest in that topic. But ultimately, it just wasn’t right for me.

    I think Simpler.Easier.Happier sums up my own experience and also is more relatable for my readers. I was running out of steam becaueI have achieved so many of my goals, but then I realized that it’s now my turn to pay it forward and help other people do the same. If I’d only realized it was much easier to make these changes – hard to understand when you’re just feelign overwhelmed. Just take the first step and it’s all downhill from there!

    Yes I have a lot of earlier posts about decluttering. I also recommend the Miss Minimalist website and Small Notebook websites to help get you organized (Rachel of small notebook went to Italy too!) Soon you will have nice clean closets like I do! So glad to have met you. 🙂

Tell me what you think

