Posted in this&that

Beautiful old things

I love old barns, old dishes, old doors and windows, old fabrics, old books, old photos. I’d say it’s all about the fact that I’m aging, too, but old and weathered, cherished or abandoned, old things have always appealed to me. I love to hold them or touch them and wonder about them, the history, and the people who built them, handled, quilted or read them.

This is the first post (mostly photographs and mostly by other people since I don’t take very many myself, although that may change) in an occasional series of beautiful old things.

Hope you will enjoy them as much as I do.

These two photos come from Just Beautiful Things, a blog I just discovered when looking for photos of old barns. One of the things I’ve always wanted to do is restore an old barn into a home. The Just Beautiful Things blog, while it looks not to be very active these days, has a small, interesting piece and pictures about that very idea.

Above photo of Leaning Barn
Found on flickr by ninjapoodles
Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

5 thoughts on “Beautiful old things

    1. Glad you like it! I’m having a blast looking around the web for “old” photos and it’s made me want to get out my camera and start shooting places like this again.Thanks for the comment — hope you’ll like the others to come.

Tell me what you think

