Posted in this&that

New blogs and old passions

I spend a good deal of time daily at WordPress, at least most days. (One of the joys of having lots of time to spend.) During that time I blog a bit, tinker and finesse different features on my blog, reply to comments and read the blogs of new followers, check out Freshly Pressed, read posts in the topics that interest me, and read the posts of bloggers that I follow–I love that part. In fact, I love the whole basket full of goodies.

In the past few days I’ve found several new blogs that I like but only by the sheer luck of a new reader having liked, commented on, or followed my blog. It occurs to me that I’m missing something here. I don’t take enough time to discover new bloggers. I’m going to start looking for one new blog a day that I find interesting and enjoy reading.

from Mike’s Red Door Series

By that same kind of “chance” meeting, I’m now following Mike’s Look at Life. I really like Mike’s blog and photography, and a little thing he has for doors. Yeah, doors.

I like his photos of old houses, barns and doors, especially, because they are simple. Clean. Pensive.

Viewing one of his door photos today reminded me how much I’ve always loved old barns and buildings, old windows and doors, old mannequins, old things passed by while life moves on.

So, taking a cue from Mike, I’m going to start posting more photos and thoughts about things that prompt that wistfulness for me.

New blogs and old passions. There’s always something new to learn or something old to remember.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

6 thoughts on “New blogs and old passions

  1. Funny. I like to take photos of doors too–when I’m on vacation. Wonder what that says about us? Always looking for escape or always trying to get in?

    1. Maybe both. I think for me it’s just part of being an introvert. I always like photos of things, especially old things, better than those of people. I like the simplicity. If I had kids or grand children that could tend to make photo viewing a tad more complicated!

Tell me what you think

