Posted in this&that

Old posts: Who’s the writer here? 11/27/10

You may find it odd that I claim to be a writer but have yet to write much of anything on this blog. Well, don’t worry your pretty little head about it, as my grandma used to say.

I’m taking part in NaNoWriMo this month. National Novel Writing Month happens every year, November 1-30. It’s “a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. The kamikaze approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly. http://www.nanowrimo.com/

Writers are encouraged to write with abandon and count on the fact that there will be plenty of crap in the final product. For this one month a year, it’s about quantity rather than quality. And, I love it! I’ve met people from all over the world, and people from right down the block. I’ve written in coffee shops, airports, bed, the car and any place else that gives me half an hour of time. All in order to get those words in.

This year I finally decided that I am just not a writer of fiction (this, after having taken part and won the challenge several years running). I suck at thinking up a plot, fleshing out characters, and writing dialogue that doesn’t walk on stilts. (Stilted, get it?) *sigh* Oh well. But, alas, that’s a topic for another time.

To answer the question, who is the writer here, I offer up, ME! But, I’m just other directed this month racing to the finish line with thousands of others. The blog will just have to survive on the writings of others (damned good ones, too) until I finish.

Actually, I have technically finished (over 73,000 words) but I’m still writing because my regional writers group is locked in a “word war” with another region (for highest average word count per person) and we need all the help we can get.

So, I’ll just leave you with this: Ever thought of writing a novel? Thousands of people are doing it this month and at this point, they’ve written a collective word count of ………….. 2,147,483,647!

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

Tell me what you think

