Posted in this&that

18 degrees of early association

Yesterday, I was perusing Facebook and, in particular, the Spin and Marty page (#1) when I discovered a blip of Miss Frances (#2) and Ding Dong School (#3)! I about fainted. Miss Frances and Ding Dong School were two of my first TV memories. Let’s see, 1952, would have made me 3-1/2 or 4. Also among my first TV memories, an early “cowboy” Sheriff John (#4) and his lunch brigade (#5) and his happy birthday song (“happy birthday to you, you’re another year older today!”) (#6) and my favorite “engineer” Engineer Bill (#7) and his red light/green light milk drinking game (#8).

And, my first character memories were Crusader Rabbit (#9) and his sidekick Rags the Tiger (#10) and the puppets Kukla and Ollie with their “person” Fran, as in Kukla, Fran and Ollie (#11).

My favorite real cowboy (actor) I think was Annie Oakley (#12) but she came along later, when I was big enough to jump the couch like she mounted her horse, with a leap, from behind! What a cool chick! Even with that dumb little brother of hers, Tag.

I also loved Sky King and his niece Penny (#13) and the Mickey Mouse Club (#14) with Spin and Marty and Darlene and Whiteshadow (#15) and the Annette series with Annette Funicello (#16). they all came later, too.

But, my all time favorite was the wonderful Webster Webfoot (#17) with his voice Uncle Jimmy (#18). 1950ish….I think I was about 2 or 3 and thoroughly enjoyed the fact that Webster was just “three and a half, but tough!”

I’ve discovered some form of all of them, again, thanks to YouTube and, I expect, a million other baby boomers who can still remember when computers didn’t exist and you could play outside with your friends, unattended, until the street lights came on. Thanks, largely, to a neighborhood full of kids and parents who watched out for everyone’s children, and, of course, a safer environment all together.

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

One thought on “18 degrees of early association

Tell me what you think

