Posted in inspiration, life, observations

Downsizing. Dread. Emotional attachment. Procrastination.

Subtitled: Isn’t there a book that needs to be read?

I’m in the process of getting rid of a ton of our stuff. I want to move to Italy and we can’t possibly take all this stuff, nor do I feel an urgent need for my third grade spelling book to accompany me on the trip. And, I particularly don’t need all the stuff in boxes that we haven’t even opened since before we knew each other!

I’ve discovered several “minimalist” blogs that I now subscribe to and the following is from a guest post on one of them today. It’s a sweet and poignant story of a young man sorting out his mom’s stuff when she passed away and it offers the following advice for similar projects. (#1-6 are his and #7 is mine, added because I’m going to post this list on the wall in my sorting workspace. It is a friendly reminder that I’ve been “at” this project now since May 2010 and I haven’t moved much of anything, anywhere, except around the room I’m working in!).

Please send caffeine and a cattle prod. I promise to post pictures as I work. I don’t promise, however, to get anything done.

  • I am not my stuff. We are more than our possessions.
  • Our memories are not under our beds. Memories are within us, not within our things.
  • An item that is sentimental for us can be an item that is useful for someone else.
  • Holding on to stuff weighs on us mentally and emotionally. Letting go is freeing.
  • You can take pictures of items you want to remember.
  • Old photographs can be scanned.
  • Just do it.

I believe #3 is saying that I should send all my sentimental stuff to my sister and let her deal with it! I can just go on about my life, then, smiling because she is taking care of it for me. (She’s my only sibling and is way too sentimental to toss anything!)

And, I have a great example of #6: Dan, who is scanning his way through even his dad’s old slides. Bravo….can you come do mine when you finish, Dan? I have childhood Yosemite pix, too!

Are we there yet?

The full piece can be found at http://rowdykittens.com/2011/03/sentimental-items/. Rowdy Kittens is the “live small” blog of  Tammy Strobel of Portland. The guest poster for this article is Joshua Millburn (http://www.theminimalists.com/) and the post is titled “Letting Go of Sentimental Items.”

Author:

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me.

Tell me what you think

