Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy

This week I’m the happy recipient of the Sunshine award from blogging friend introverted blogger! Thank you!

My first award! Wow, what can I say . . . you like me, you really like me. Or not, you know. Whatever.

Anyway, with this prestigious award (even though it’s still dated 2011; maybe someone can help us out with that — I am no computer genius) comes hefty responsibilities. So, let me begin with an acceptance speech. (Cue red carpet.)

I’d like to thank my director, my hairdressers and make up artists, co-stars, and costumers, all the crew, the caterers (especially them) and all the little people who hang on my coat tails and want credit whenever I receive any award.

That said, I’d like to share the wealth by awarding this happy little prize to the following bloggers whose work I really enjoy reading. [Winners, see below for more information.*]

sillyliss
anitascribbles
Diabetic Diva
daffodils & dishwater
Hermionejh

I’d also like to suggest you look at blogs by subtlekate, introverted blogger, and crubin who also delight me with their writing. (Other smart folks have already given them this award.) And, I’d like to mention another great blogger, pouring my art out, to whom I would gladly give the award if I didn’t think he’d wrap it up in fish-smelly newspaper and send it back to me.

Now the harder part, 10 things you might not (want to) know about me:

mmmm, vanilla ice cream, peaches and raspberries

1. My native language is sarcasm.

2. I love chocolate chip cookies, brownies and most things chocolate but my favorite dessert is Peach Melba (no chocolate). Go figure.

3. I’m a writer and am sure there’s a book in my future. Just probably not one anyone will read.

imagine me naked

4. I tap dance naked.

5. I’m a Harry Potter freak. (Well, I read the books, listened to them on tape and saw the movies. I went to one opening night event and one release party just to say I’d done it, but I didn’t dress up so maybe I’m not such a freak after all. Then again. . .)

6. I don’t understand the attraction of the Kardashians, etc., and I don’t watch reality shows. Well, I do kind of like Project Runway because I love the designs and all the gay guys.

7. As a child I envied kids who had lots of family — grandparents, aunts and uncles, cousins, and siblings. But, now that I’ve married into a huge Italian family, all those people freak me out!

Ok, so they're not Italian, so what? They're also not my family. Deal.

8. My favorite saying is “Leap and the net will appear” but I’m really not much of a risk-taker.

9. This is more revealing than I’ve been with most people I’ve known all my life, so let’s close with a biggie: my favorite season is Autumn!

10. I might have fibbed about some of the things on this list.

That’s all folks!

*Awardees, I refer you the Versatile Blogger Award site where you can get information on the secret handshake and special responsibilities of winners. While it refers to Versatile Blogger winners, the guidelines are the same except that you can nominate more people and answer fewer questions.

8 thoughts on “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy

  1. First of all, thank you so much for mentioning me! Always a pleasant surprise. (At least, I think that was me. I couldn’t click open the link ;) )

    Second of all, anyone who’s native language is sarcasm is tops in my book, especially one who tap dances naked in autumn while eating dessert and running away from Italian loved ones.

    You have a wonderful blog, and I have no doubt more of those pesky–er, I mean, wonderful–blog awards are headed your way. :)

  2. I am just touched and honored that you like my blog in any way enough to mention it. I don’t really understand awards yet, as I’m totally new to blogging (I’m a late blogoomer, you could say), but I’ll try to read up.

    WordPress is such a cool place. I spent a lot of time journaling at Livejournal, and I think I’ve really moved over to WordPress as my place to spend more time. I always enjoy when people link me to new blogs they like.

    And I always enjoy your blog. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. :)

  3. Congrats to you on winning this Sunshine Award!! Your blog is so deserving of this award, I always enjoy reading! And thank you for paying it forward to yours truly! You can’t see me but my cheeks are blushing red. A thousand thanks to you!

  4. Pingback: Fun Friday: Pay it forward | daffodils & dishwater

  5. Pingback: Is This Like The Guest Who Comes Late To The Dinner Party? | Life On Earth

Tell me what you think

